The Importance of Nature

After years of gardening, of days upon days spent outside, digging, planting, and planning, of observing and making discoveries and notes, a big realization enveloped me, it came in small doses at first, and then it consumed me: that nature and my SELF are one and the same.  I belong to the natural world around me, and to do anything to alter or in any way or interfere with the rhythm of its life is agains my nature. To me, the universe unfolding just a few steps from my back deck is eyeopening and overwhelmingly awesome.

I am celebrating my tenth year of organic gardening.  My back yard is truly a universe on itself.  It is perhaps just a half and acre of space open on all sides to nature.  Deer are free to come and go.  Raccoons, woodchucks, rabbits, foxes, squirrels, chipmunks and voles are usual visitors.  Frogs, toads and snakes hang around shady areas and water features, and birds populate every available real state that suits their habits.  To support all this life there are countless insects and pollinators buzzing around in an interminable web that keeps this ecosystem connecting without end.

I propose to all gardeners, that we make it a priority to create landscapes that are both beautiful and wildlife habitats.  Places where life is invited to thrive and multiply so we can observe, learn and marvel in the magic of nature!

“Come forth into the light of things, let nature be your teacher”  William Worthsworth.

5 responses to “The Importance of Nature

  1. Pat, You really are one with nature and I share your desire to enjoy it and share it with those critters that share their space with us. How lucky we are to appreciate and enjoy the wonders around us.

    Like

  2. Thanks Nancy, glad to hear it! We can make a difference with anything we can do to improve the balance of nature and insure the survival of species we do not even see or know are there!

    Like

  3. Good post! I like this concept of we part of nature too. I am wondering how you let deer free to “come and go” withouting damages in your garden? I would like to find out so that I can do it on my community garden.

    Like

    • Welcome Paolo,
      Once you have a good balance of deer resistant plants (Check my posts on deer resistant plants) and the plants they are more prone to eating, you can deter them from attacking those you want to protect. Placement is very important, deer move in groups most times of the year and they have a set path they follow in their daily foraging, a little observation will give you a good sense of where they walk and what they are eating. One thing I have done is plant the plants I know they dislike as my first wall of defense. Boxwoods, grasses, Euphorbia sp. etc. You are never going to eliminate some damage but they rarely kill the plant.

      Like

Leave a Reply

