Lets Talk About a Great Bloomer

Oenothera fruticosa or Evening Primrose

Every June, I can’t wait for the time when Oenothera bursts into bloom. Its bright yellow profuse blooms fill me with hope,  I fell in love with its sunny blooms the moment I spotted it at a farmer’s market some 16 years ago;  after an afternoon of shopping, my bags were full and my cash all gone.  My son, then 8 years old, proudly produced two dollars so I could buy the plant.  I have never been disappointed by this mighty performer.

Eonothera fruticosa, also known as Sundrops and Narrow-leaf evening primrose, is a perennial that propagates easily without being invasive.  Fibrous crowns form dense clumps of evergreen rosettes.  In the spring, flowering stems grow to carry the flower display which starts in late may and persist thru june and into early July.  I have divided that original plant 3 or 4 times and have several colonies thought my garden in both shade and sun and they all manage to bloom.  Those in shaded areas bloom slightly lighter and a few days later. All in all, this is a plant I highly recommend for your perennial border.

Oenothera growing in shade.

If you’ve never been thrilled to the very edges of your soul by a flower in spring bloom, maybe your soul has never been in bloom.  ~Terri Guillemets

2 responses to “Lets Talk About a Great Bloomer

  1. I’ve had this plant in my garden and only have one left at the present and I am hoping it will live through the winter. If not,do you know where I can purchase it.

    Like

  2. Welcome Brenda! I am on Zone 5 and mine is an heirloom variety I purchased at a farmers market twenty years ago! it has been coming back in my garden since then. In that time I have divided it into three different areas and it has done well in all locations but better in dappled shade. There are about 80 varieties and some are not perennials. It should form rosettes at the end of flowering that spread slowly. This makes it very easy to propagate. Biennials species would propagate from seed each year and annuals do not generally come back. Perhaps yours is an annual. Try Bluestone Perennials, they have three varieties. I see there is a new to me variety called “Sunset Boulevard” looks gorgeous!

    Like

Leave a Reply

